gumnut trans

World’s First and Largest Koala Sanctuary

Kangaroos and their relatives come from the family Macropodidae. This family is split into two subfamilies; Sthenurinae which is represented by a sole member, the Banded Hare-wallaby, and Macropodinae which is represented by five groups including kangaroos, wallabies, wallaroos, rock-wallabies, pademelons, quokkas, tree-kangroos, hare-wallabies and forest wallabies. The term ‘macropod’ (meaning ‘large-footed’) is often used to describe members of this family.

They all have powerful legs that act like springs, big feet to help them hop, and a long tail to help them balance. The larger kangaroo species can jump up to three metres high and nine metres long with one bounce and hop as fast as 70 km/hr.

The differences between kangaroos and wallabies include kangaroos being bigger in size and the base of their tail is thick unlike the long, thin tail of the wallaby.

  • Default
  • Title
  • Date
  • Random